GDC 2009, day 2

3 May

Thursday, March 26th at GDC was more of the same for me — hanging out with friends, relaxing, attending some sessions… Here’s the lowdown.

First thing I did was hit Hideo Kojima’s design keynote.

Solid Game Design: Making the “Impossible” Possible
Hideo Kojima

I was introduced to Hideo Kojima once, at a restaurant where we both happened to be dining, but he was pretty into his sushi at the time, and I was anxious to get to mine, so I don’t suppose he even remembers. I certainly didn’t get a chance to talk to him and, so, figured I should take advantage of the opportunity to hear what he had to say this year. It ended up being a pretty interesting hour.

His key point was that game design is the art of The Impossible Possible — an idea I find pretty appealing. The talk was about the road he takes to make that happen. For him, making impossible things a reality takes an understanding of Hardware Capabilities, Software Capabilities and what he called Design Ladders (or what others might call “Raw Creativity” or “Designing Around Hardware and Software Constraints”).

In describing his creative process, Kojima talked about identifying a problem (e.g., Get a Character Over That Wall) and then coming up with a bunch of ways the problem could be solved. Eventually, he settles on the coolest solution and executes that solution. I was dumbstruck that he goes to the trouble of thinking up all those answers but then limits the player to only one. In other words, the concept of choice belongs to developers, in Kojima’s world, not to players! Pretty much the same approach I like to apply to design, but applied in a completely different way. My thinking is, if you’re only going to offer players one way to solve a problem, well, for starters, maybe you really want to make a movie… But, if you’re going to go to the trouble of thinking up a bunch of ways to “get over the wall,” as he put it, why not attach some consequences to different wall-climbing approaches and let players in on the fun? Clearly, you can’t argue with the guy’s success, but I can’t help thinking how much players are missing out on…

Anyway, the talk was structured around the history of the Metal Gear series. Pretty fascinating. He talked about each game in the series and how he tried to set a new, impossible goal for himself and the team with each one. Reminded me a lot of how Richard Garriott approached things when he gave me a crash course in electronic game design back in the day. But instead of Richard’s “scrap everything and build from scratch” approach, Kojima takes a careful, incremental approach to innovation, introducing just one new thing each game, building on the foundation of earlier games.

Pretty interesting talk, but I’ve let too much time lapse and that’s about all I remember. Have to listen to the audio to refresh my memory!

Next I went to a talk about “physical play,” not so much because I’m all that into the topic (in fact, I wasn’t even sure what the speaker meant) but because I was intrigued to hear what a guy from MIT’s Media Lab might have to say to a room full of game developers. Turns out, it was a swell talk.

Physical Play: Siftables and Other New Forms and Formats for Interaction, Collaboration and Creativity
David Merrill

Merrill, an MIT Media Lab researcher (http://web.media.mit.edu/~dmerrill/siftables.html), talked about alternate control mechanisms (alternatives to keyboards or switches), from the Theremin to the mouse to multitouch screens to the Wii remote. The most interesting observation in his historical overview was that nontraditional control schemes work much better when there’s force feedback involved. Guess that makes sense.

The bulk of the talk revolved around Merrill’s own project – something called “Siftables”  (http://siftables.com/). Siftables are little square blocks, each with a tiny screen, motion sensors and proximity sensors. Each Siftable can perform simple functions on its own (displaying a word or a number or a mathematical symbol or a face) but — cool! cool! cool! — can respond to what other nearby Siftables are doing. (At the trivial level, think of the opening of the TV show, The Brady Bunch. A set of Siftables can recreate that people-in-a-tic-tac0toe board sequence and look at and respond to each other…)

The possibilities inherent in the Siftables idea are incredible. I want ‘em. Now. Merrill talked a lot about the educational possibilities and all but the “board” games you could create with these things would be incredible. Check out the website and you’ll see what I mean. We should all just start brainstorming now so we’re ready when Siftables take the world by storm!

Experimental Gameplay Sessions
Jonathan Blow et al

Okay. Have to calm down. Take a deep breath. Be rational. There. Better.

This was easily the high point of the show, for me. I was completely blown away. The level of creativity on display here was amazing.

First up, Jenova Chen (That Game Company) talked about the iterative prototyping process that led to the creation of Flower (a game that’s totally worth playing if you haven’t already). Like all of us, the Flower team tried all sorts of things — all sorts of mechanics and goals and challenges — before settling on their final, leisurely, nearly goal-free game design. If anyone doubted that iteration was the heart of game design or, at least, of game design in a world of unknowns and new ideas, this talk would have convinced you.

One of the speaker/demo-ers showed off his “4D game” — Miegakure — a game set in a four-dimensional space, unfolded so mere 3D mortals can (nearly) parse it. I barely understood what the guy was talking about and by the end of his brief talk and demo my head felt like it was going to explode, but, man, do I want to try to figure it out! Proof positive that there are whole universes (maybe literally) of new ideas to explore in gaming!

Some guys from an outfit called Hazardous Software showed off “Achron” — which looked to be a gen-u-ine time-travel RTS. Incredible. I’ve been wanting to do another time travel game since I worked on Martian Dreams but didn’t know how to pull it off. These guys seem to have done it. Just go to their website and check it out. Really cool.

I won’t bother with all the details (this is already going on too long) but I have to say I was especially inspired by Shadow Physics, Closure and Unfinished Swan. All of the presentations were terrific (and I hate to leave anyone out) but these three really did it for me on the gameplay, aesthetic and creative levels. The ways in which each used lighting, physics and rendering as gameplay tools should provide all of us non-indie gamers a little kick in the butt to ratchet things up, creatively. Simple, beautiful and at least potentially incredible games….

Basically, the whole indie scene is killing me right now. Something changed in the last year. If this session, and the IGF booth proved nothing else it’s that the indie game movement is really on the move. It’s not just  a bunch of guys fooling around or building their portfolios — it’s a bunch of talented, dedicated, professional developers making great, polished, playable games. I don’t know whether to root for them to get publishing deals (so they can keep making their own cool stuff) or whether to root for them to fail to get a deal (so I can hire them all!).

Frankly, as a player, I’m really drawn to indie games these days. World of Goo… Flower… Braid… Just great stuff. Everyone in the mainstream of games who attends GDC should try to squeeze into the perenially-sold-out Experimental Gameplay session — if not to be inspired than to be scared witless by the creative guys who are going to be stealing all our jobs if we don’t up our game dramatically!

(On a related note, there were a ton of games on display at the Independent Game Festival booth (http://www.igf.com/02finalists.html) worthy of note. Tag: The Power of Paint… Pixeljunk Eden… The Graveyard… Night Game… Blueberry Garden… Feist… Musaic Box… Amazing stuff!

Oh, and if you want to read more about the Experimental Gameplay Sessions (and find links to a bunch of games I didn’t get into here), check out this article from the Guardian by Aleks Krotoski. Reminded me of a bunch of games I neglected to mention that you ought to check out. Too many games, not enough time or space to blog about them all…

So that was day 2 — quite the inspiring day, actually.

8 Responses to “GDC 2009, day 2”

  1. gshonk May 4, 2009 at 12:57 am #

    I have to agree with you about Kojima, it seems like he comes up with all of these amazing solutions and then takes them from the player. I think it would only add to his games if the players were able to choose from all of the solutions. But who am I to question his work.

    Also the Siftables thing is amazing, I agree the game ideas that we could come up with are endless. What a new way to be able to think about games. Exciting stuff for sure!

  2. ArcticWolf May 4, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    GDC sounds fantastic! Maybe one day I’ll be lucky enough to attend one of the conferences. But the main point that really stood out for me from this blog was the “siftables”. You mention briefly the idea of board game applications and this I think is a major change to today’s current difference between board games and video games.

    Many people when you say “game” think immediately of the last video game they were playing and the reasoning I feel behind this is that board games just don’t have the processing power that video games do and therefore provide less of an experience to players. However you mention video games to avid board game players and they claim that dislike video games since they’re not “real” or interactive enough to be fun.

    Siftables I think is finally a way of bridging this gap.

    Board gamers can finally see what it is that video gamers like about having processing power and the ability to calculate larger sums quickly, while still interacting enough with the “pieces” to make the game fun for themselves. While on other hand video gamers can still have the graphics and processing power they love but are introduced to a new way of playing a game.

    The tilt function of the siftables adds even more versatility to the way in which game designers are allowed to think and adapt perhaps previously existing games to this interactive style or perhaps even combining two existing games into one. I am really looking forward to what sort of games will come out of this in-genius idea…especially if Hideo Kojima takes this new hardware into consideration for his gaming increment.😄

  3. evguenni June 5, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    Siftables look great. Shame that the price bracket is probably going to be a huge deciding factor on how quickly (or if at all) they will be embraced in the gaming world.

    Looking at the way controllers have evolved lately I think the days of conventional (pressed/not pressed) “buttons” as a primary control method in games is looking very shaky.

  4. prankster101 October 6, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

    hi, can i please ask as to whether it would be possible to interview you about your career and new game? please can you contact me via email the_az@hotmail.com

    thanks

  5. bmb13 October 24, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    Hi, I read your interview with Game Informer about Epic Mickey. And I see you are a fan of Carl Barks. This was the only way I could contact you, so I’m sorry it hasn’t got anything to do with GDC’09.
    I just wanted to tell you about Don Rosa, whom you don’t seem to know. Unsurprising, as he isn’t really widely known in the USA to my knowledge. Anyway, he’s a brilliant comic artist whom, dare I say took on the burden of following in Barks’ footsteps, and carried it above and beyond what was left to him. It’s wonderful entertainment, even today when I have since grown out of reading Disney comics. In fact, I’d rather read his take on the knights templar than any Dan Brown book.

    He has a nice entry on wikipedia, but unfortunately I learned that he has now retired. I don’t know if there’s any active comic artists who could take up the legacy. And I don’t know if it matters. As it seems it is Mickey’s turn now.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Don_Rosa

    Cheers.

    • wspector October 25, 2009 at 11:33 am #

      To be clear, I’m very familiar with Don Rosa’s work and like it a lot. I’m not sure I LOVE it, but I admire what he does immensely.

      FWIW, your comment (and a bunch of similar comments and questions I’ve been getting via email) inspired me to whip up another post full of lists — my favorite Disney things in several categories.

      Hop on over and check it out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Warren Spector talks about the report Hideo Kojima - May 18, 2009

    […] geymdizayner Warren Spector (Warren Spector) published in early May, the story of the as he was at GDC 2009 and listened to a report Hideo Kojima (Hideo […]

  2. Miegakure Selected Press « Marc ten Bosch - December 3, 2009

    […] Spector mentionned the game on his blog. One of the speaker/demo-ers showed off his ”4D game” – Miegakure – a game set in a […]

Leave a Reply

